

2012-2013 Scholarship and Award Winners

E. Nelson James Junior Scholarship (\$3,000 each)

Joseph Gamble

University of Alabama (S)

Phi Xi Chapter

Laura Williams

Rockhurst University (MW)

Alpha Mu Gamma Chapter

Runner-up (\$1,500)

Hannah Humphrey

Mississippi State University (S)

Xi Kappa Chapter

Elva Bell McLin Senior Scholarship (\$4,000 each)

Katie Miller

Oral Roberts University (SW)

Alpha Iota Psi Chapter

Lindsay Cameron

Ashland University (E)

Alpha Beta Phi Chapter

Runner-up (\$2,000)

Elijah Edwards

University of Kentucky (S)

Delta Epsilon Upsilon Chapter

Edwin L. Stockton, Jr., Graduate Scholarship (\$4,000 each)

Jennifer Doyle-Corn

Florida State University (S)

Rho Epsilon Chapter

Gretchen Frank

Illinois State University (MW)

Lambda Delta Chapter

Runner-up (\$2,000)

Gwendolyn Edward

University of North Texas (SW)

Tau Delta Chapter

William C. Johnson Distinguished Scholarship (\$5,000)

Catherine Bailey

Western Michigan University (MW)

Alpha Nu Pi Chapter

Runner-up (\$3,000)

Rachel Jones

Notre Dame of Maryland University (E)

Alpha Alpha Chapter

Study Abroad Scholarship (\$3,000)

First Round

Donald Brown

Mississippi State University (S)

Xi Kappa Chapter

Second Round

Russell Willoughby

University of Alabama (S)

Phi Xi Chapter

Regent Scholarships (\$1,000 each)

Eastern

Sarah Green

Southern Connecticut State University

Omicron Chi Chapter

Far Western

Maryellen Diotte

California State University - Fullerton

Alpha Delta Zeta Chapter

Midwestern

Kara Salmon

Bradley University

Beta Lambda Chapter

Southern

Casey Milliken

University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Alpha Alpha Upsilon Chapter

Southwestern

Bethany Jackson

Chi Delta Chapter

Oklahoma Baptist University

P. C. Somerville Teaching Awards (\$2,000 each)

Katelyn Bruffy

The College of New Jersey (E)

Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter

Brian Hartt

The College of New Jersey (E)

Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter

Part-Time Undergraduate Scholarship (\$2,500)

Areej Dwikat

Tennessee State University (S)

Alpha Alpha Eta Chapter



2012-2013 Scholarship and Award Winners

Summer Program Scholarship (\$1,000)

Amadi Ozier University of West Georgia (S) Pi Omicron Chapter

Alumni Epsilon Scholarship (\$2,500)

Tanya Schmidt Alumna of Santa Clara University (FW) Phi Phi Chapter

Scholarly Paper Award - Undergraduate (\$150)

Christen Hammock University of Georgia (S) Alpha Alpha Omega Chapter

Scholarly Paper Award - Graduate (\$150)

Jennifer Doyle-Corn Florida State University (S) Rho Epsilon Chapter

Scholarship Application Essay Awards (\$100 each)

Jihan Bok Cedarville University (E) Alpha Kappa Delta Chapter

Christen Hammock University of Georgia (S) Alpha Alpha Omega Chapter

Katie Miller Oral Roberts University (SW) Alpha Iota Psi Chapter

Outstanding Chapter Awards (\$400 each + \$250/travel)

Chapman University (FW) Alpha Zeta Iota Chapter

Rockhurst University (MW) Alpha Mu Gamma Chapter

Tulane University (S) Alpha Beta Upsilon Chapter

University of Alabama (S) Phi Xi Chapter

Elaine W. Hughes Outstanding Sponsor Award (\$500)

Megan Holt Tulane University (S) Alpha Beta Upsilon Chapter

Outstanding Regional Sponsor Awards

Timothy Helwig Western Illinois University (MW) Phi Delta Chapter

Felicia Jean Steele The College of New Jersey (E) Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter

Outstanding Literary Arts Journal Award (\$500)

Fort Hays State University (HP) Rho Psi Chapter

Project Grants (\$500 each)

Carson-Newman College (S) Xi Iota Chapter

Eureka College (MW) Theta Lambda Chapter

Student Leadership Awards (\$250 each)

Alia Mustafa Aref American University of Kuwait (E/International) Alpha Rho Eta Chapter

Lyra B. Johnson Bradley University (MW) Beta Lambda Chapter

The Rectangle and Review Writing Awards

Elizabeth Holtze Creative Nonfiction Award (\$300)

Margaret Russel Marian University (MW) Kappa Tau Chapter

Frederic Fadner Critical Essay Award (\$300)

Alexis Catanzarite High Point University (S) Alpha Xi Xi Chapter

Herbert L. Hughes Short Story Award (\$300)

Maegan Lee Purdue University (MW) Alpha Omicron Chapter

Eleanor B. North Poetry Award (\$300)

Robert Shapiro Elon University (S) Xi Omicron Chapter

Judson Q. Owen Award for Best Piece Overall (\$200)

Maegan Lee Purdue University (MW) Alpha Omicron Chapter



2012-2013 Scholarship and Award Winners

Chapter Website Award (\$250)

The College of New Jersey (E) Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter

Chapter Blog Award (\$250)

University of North Carolina, Wilmington (S) Alpha Alpha Upsilon Chapter

Individual Website Award (\$250)

Patrick Bryant Winthrop University (S) Iota Mu Chapter

Individual Blog Award (\$250)

Amanda Webster Mount Mary College (MW) Chi Epsilon Chapter