2006 Winners

Convention Writing Awards

Critical Essay Stephanie Brown (1st Place) Stetson University \$200

Holly Chism (2nd Place) Missouri Southern State University \$125

Brian O'Connor (3rd Place) Westfield State College \$75

Creative Non-fiction Williams Armsby (1st Place) College of Charleston

\$200

Dahlie Conferido (2nd Place) La Sierra University \$125

Jillian Bateman (3rd Place) Ithaca College \$75

Original Poetry

Michael Shewmaker (1st Place) East Texas Baptist \$200

Donika Ross (2nd Place) University of Texas, Austin \$125

Theo Bohn (3rd Place) University of South Dakota \$75

Original Fiction

Danielle Pruitt (1st Place) Azusa Pacific University \$200

Tara Tyson (2nd Place) University of Alabama \$125

Hillary Branman (3rd Place) Chapman University \$75

Original Drama/Screenplay

Donna Gregory (1st Place) Oklahoma City University \$200

Kassy Nicholson (2nd Place) Oklahoma City University \$125

Melanie Martin (3rd Place) Slippery Rock University \$75

P.C. Sommerville Future Teaching Awards

John Monahan University of Scranton \$2000

Sarah Schultz Luther College \$2000

Elaine W. Hughes Outstanding Sponsor Awards

Robert Scott Ohio Northern University \$500

Gloria Hochstein University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire Plaque

Outstanding Chapter Awards

University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire Theta Zeta \$350

Alvernia College Kappa Pi \$350

Stephens College Alpha Epsilon Eta \$350

Outstanding Web Awards

Chapter Websites <u>Old Dominion University</u> (1st Place) Nu Upsilon \$200

Rockhurst University (2nd Place) Alpha Mu Gama \$150

<u>Texas Tech University</u> (3rd Place) Psi Delta \$100

Literary Arts Journal Awards

Central Methodist University Inscape \$400

Fort Hayes State University Lines \$350

Individual Websites

Donna Gregory Oklahoma City University \$200

Joseph Dugan

Cedarville University \$200

Project Grants

Slippery Rock University

Helping students aged 8-18 develop creative writing skills through workshops, tutoring, and publishing a compilation of student work. Eta Delta \$300

University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire

Hosting Children's Writing Contest for local K-8 schools and a Young Adult Writing Contest for grades 9-12. Theta Zeta \$300

Rockhurst University

Presenting and donating books to seniorlevel classrooms at the Paseo Academy of the Fine and Performing Arts. Alpha Mu Gamma \$300

Scholarly Paper Awards

Undergraduate

Belinda Wheeler Purdue University, North Central \$150

Graduate

Tiffany Boddie Boise State University \$150

Rectangle & Review Writing Awards

Best Piece Overall

Josh Lapekas "The Rabbit"

Creative Non-fiction

Josh Lapekas "The Rabbit"

Short Fiction

Amanda Huhmann "Angel Wings"

Poetry

Melissa Fite "The Ceramicist, to His Wife"

Critical Essay

Jonathan Murr "The Dreadful American Tangle: American Stricture and Failed Search for Identity in *Giovanni's Room*"

Scholarships

Graduate Katherine Pavel South Dakota State University \$2500

Ryan Fletcher (runner up) University of Central Oklahoma \$500

Senior Donna Gregory Oklahoma City University \$2500

Erika Claire Strandjord Luther College \$2500

S. Brilmyer (runner up) University of Scranton \$500

Junior

Lynsey Pope Mount Vernon Nazarene University \$2500

Sandra Shorey Columbus State University \$2500

Christina Conway Texas A&M University, Kingsville \$2500

Andrew Erkkila (runner up) The College of New Jersey \$500 **STD Scholar Award** Andrea Murphy Old Dominion University \$3000

Regnery Maya Stoilova American University of Paris \$2500

Judith Hicks (runner up) University of Scranton \$500

Study Abroad Antionette Jochman St. Norbert College \$2500

Regional: Eastern Lynzie Biggs Alvernia College \$1000

Regional: High Plains Amanda Jones South Dakota State University \$1000

Regional: Midwestern Cynthia Arnold Illinois College \$1000

Regional: Southern Natalie McCall University of Alabama, Birmingham \$1000

Regional: Eastern Lydia Fletcher University of Texas, San Antonio \$1000