

2011 Convention Awards

Isabel Sparks President's Awards

Given for the best presentations by active student members at the Sigma Tau Delta International Convention, these awards were established in 1991 by Isabel Sparks, the fifth President of Sigma Tau Delta.

Convention Awards for Original Fiction

1st Place

Jennifer Kiefer (\$500) Western Kentucky University (KY) Hands

3rd Place

Audrey Gearhart (\$150) Western Kentucky University (KY) Yellow

2nd Place

Pace Gardner (\$250) Chapman University (CA) First Step

Convention Awards for Creative Non-Fiction

1st Place

Whitney Dean (\$500) Metropolitan State College of Denver (CO) Low Rollers

3rd Place

Mary Patrick (\$150) Furman University (SC) The Lecture on the Mount

2nd Place

Jacqueline Fetzer (\$250) Pepperdine University (CA) Air is for the Weak

Convention Awards for Original Poetry

1st Place

William Hurst (\$500) Lee University (TN) Body and Soul

3rd Place

Samantha Killmeyer (\$150) Westminster College (PA) I Know this to be True

2nd Place

Evanne Lindley (\$250) Pepperdine University (CA) Desdemona TX, 76445

Sigma Tau Delta 2011 Convention Awards

Page 2

Isabel Sparks President's Awards (continued)

Convention Awards for Critical World Literature/Popular Culture

1st Place

Lauren Rothering (\$375) St. Mary's University (MN) Identity in Adichie

3rd Place

Crystal Spears (\$150) Mercyhurst College (PA) Far Off Music

1st Place

Lateshia Beachum (\$375) Columbia College (SC) Racial Supremacy in Works

Convention Awards for Critical British Literature

1st Place

3rd Place

Bradley Wierbowski (\$500) University of Scranton (PA) Muffin Eating in Wilde

Jonathon Richard (\$150)

2nd Place

Hannah Schmitt (\$250) St. Norbert College (WI) Finding "Frank" in Emma

Louisiana Tech University (LA) Dehumanization in Chaucer

Convention Awards for Critical American Literature

1st Place

Grant Merrill (\$500) University of Alabama, Birmingham (AL) Heller's Non-Sequiters

3rd Place

Sarah Fredericks (\$250) Auburn University, Montgomery (AL) Kiss Me, Virginia

2nd Place

William Porter (\$250) SUNY, College at Geneseo (NY) Song of Myself Comedy

Convention Awards for Common Reader

1st Place

Julie Pickens (\$500) Cedarville University (OH) The Unruly Conversation

2nd Place

Andrew Storsvee (\$200) University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire (WI) Mistakes Make the Mold

2nd Place

Amanda Lonsdorf (\$200) University of Wisconsin Eau Claire (WI) Poetic Reflections on School

Sigma Tau Delta 2011 Convention Awards Page 3

Other Convention Awards

Application Essay on Convention Theme

Melissa Chastang (\$100) Hampton University (S) Alpha Beta Zeta Chapter

Amber Morales (\$100) Southern Arkansas University (SW)

Epsilon Theta Chapter

Kirk Barrett (\$100) University of North Carolina, Wilmington (S) Alpha Alpha Upsilon Chapter

Alumni Epsilon Papers

Kristen Recupero (\$250) alumna of Cedarville University (OH) Critical Essay (20th/21st Century American Literature) Aggiornamento: A Call to Doubt

Stephanie Schiefelbein (\$250) alumna of University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire **Creative Nonfiction** Commodifying Organic Food

Chapter Display Award

American University of Kuwait (\$100) Alpha Rho Eta Chapter